PETA recommends us as your reliable source for vegan wines!
We know what most of you are thinking right now: “But wait…how can wines not be vegan?”
PETA reveals the cold truth:
“The majority of people are unaware that wine, although made from grapes, may have been made using animal-derived products. During the winemaking process, the liquid is filtered through substances called “fining agents.” This process is used to remove protein, yeast, cloudiness, “off” flavors and colorings, and other organic particles. Popular animal-derived fining agents used in the production of wine include blood and bone marrow, casein (milk protein), chitin (fiber from crustacean shells), egg albumen (derived from egg whites), fish oil, gelatin (protein from boiling animal parts), and isinglass (gelatin from fish bladder membranes). Thankfully, there are several common fining agents that are animal-friendly and used to make vegan wine. Carbon, bentonite clay, limestone, kaolin clay, plant casein, silica gel, and vegetable plaques are all suitable alternatives. Now, the trick is finding out where you can buy these wines. You can check your local organic or health food stores, local organic winemakers, and co-op’s, and most regular wine/liquor stores will order vegan wines upon request.” Here’s the article.
Luckily, all of the wines we carry are not only made with organic grapes, they are all vegan as well! We’ve made it easy, just click here to browse our vegan wines.